So, today I took my sister out to find an anniversary present for my mom, from my dad, and we stopped at a pizza joint for lunch. A little place that doesn't even take credit cards. We had a table that was maybe a little too close to the door, but it gave me an opportunity to see something that is, well, one of the reasons for this blog. A woman came in with two kids, she opened the door, let the girls in, and then followed them. Now, there is a basic step missing in this. Can you find it? See it yet?
She didn't close the door, the door which she clearly had to open, and hold open, and was a pretty heavy door if I may say so, and the restaurant was air conditioned, and it was buggy out and there was a table (ok, so it was my table...) right next to the door! So I waited a couple minutes then got up and closed it. I'm not sure if people thought I was really picky and weird or appreciated my effort, but I did it.
I thought about it, chatted with Gillian about it, and decided that we have been spoiled by magical doors. You know what I mean, we've all said Open Sesame to electronic doors, I still say it in my head almost everytime I pass through one. But it's more than that. We are too self absorbed to realize when a door isn't magic even when we had to stop and use two hands to pull it open.
Sad, but true.
Cheers!
No comments:
Post a Comment